Keep Calm and Carry a Big Drink

keepcalm

  I found this book at Half Price Books which is one of my favorite places to go. Since I believe I can never have too many books, finding them at a discount price is important.

   This is the story of a woman in her early thirties stressing over her singleness, her job and her general unhappiness in life. Using a tradition, which I personally have never heard of, she and her friends draw charms attached to ribbons in a bridal shower cake. The charm is supposed to give you a clue to your future. Mel does not get the charm she had expected and this begins a journey which will change her life.

  Now I am not in my early 30s but currently I am experiencing many of the same feelings as Mel. Am I happy doing what I am doing? Will love find its way into my life? Is life something that is just fate with which you have no control or is it necessary to take an active role if you are not satisfied in your current condition?

   I found this an easy read. There are some great life questions in the book but it is written in a lighthearted and fun way so it never feels heavy or preachy. So if you are looking for an escape I recommend Stay Calm and Carry a Big Drink by Kim Gruenenfelder.

Leave a Reply

