The Thirteenth Tale by Diane Setterfield

 
Hmm what to say about this book. First I had no idea it had been made into a movie starring Vanessa Redgrave. I am now wondering if I can find it on the Internet.

A reclusive bookshop girl who has dabbled in writing biographies is contacted by an equally reclusive author requesting that she, Margaret write her biography.

Once Margarent begins to listen to Vida Winter’s story, it unleashes emotions in both women. Secrets are revealed. Mysteries are solved. Each of the women takes a journey through storytelling and as the reader we take the journey with them.

This isn’t a typical tale. There is no love story or unrequited love. In fact there are very few characters in the present time. Most of the characters come from Vida Winter’s past.  The central setting is a large old home in Northern England.
There is a twist at the end of the book that I had considered but until it’s actually revealed I wasn’t sure if my idea was right.

I liked this book. It was completely different than what I normally read so it was a nice change. I don’t like to go into great detail in my reviews because I don’t want to spoil the book for other readers.

Leave a Reply

