The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Society.

  
4 stars. How many movies and TV shows have I seen or books have I read about war. Every single one reminds me how lucky I am never to have experienced any type of war. I clearly need to work on geography. I don’t think I even knew there were islands in the English Channel. And I certainly never thought about how they may have dealt with German occupation.

I know self imposed isolation. I know temporary isolation. But I do not know nor can really begin to comprehend forced isolation. This book is a collection of letters “written” between an author and the residents of Guernsey, a channel island.

They share with her through their letters how they physically, mentally and spiritually survived years of German occupation. How they continue to heal the wounds of the soul after the war.

The author becomes so attached she decides to visit and ends up finding the home she was seeking since childhood. Friendships are formed, tried, rebuilt and flourish. 

This book requires the ability to follow a wide variety of character voices because the letters are written by several people and written to a variety of people. So if you don’t like jumping around in a book then this isn’t for you. But if you want to understand the hardships endured by the residents of the Channel Islands during WWII and gain compassion then this is a great book.

Leave a Reply

