Style Isn’t Easy by Olivia Goldsmith

hangers-569364_640

I read this book years ago and recently found it in a box. I decided it was time for a reread. Olivia Goldsmith is better known for First Wives Club. However this little book has proven its value over and over. And if I were smart, I would carry it around with me at all times or at least keep a list of the most important points. I would have saved a lot of money.

How many times have I stood in my closet, filled with clothing and thought to myself I have nothing to wear? More times than it is possible to count. Why is that? Why would a woman with a closet full of clothes have nothing to wear?

  1. The clothes don’t fit well.
  2. Buttons are missing.
  3. Belts are missing.
  4. Is it still in style?
  5. Are the clothes appropriate to the occasion?
  6. Are they too young for me?
  7. Are they too old for me?
  8. How do I accessorize what I have so I don’t look boring?

The list could go on and on. Olivia tackles the question of why the American woman is always agonizing over why she has nothing to wear. The answer is simple. We have too many choices. We don’t plan. We don’t care for our clothing appropriately because we leave things like missing buttons unfixed. We buy on whims. We buy on sale. We buy to make ourselves feel better. We buy for all the wrong reasons.

The biggest takeaways for me from the book are the following:

  • Try everything on. If it doesn’t fit give it away
  • Examine the remaining pieces and take care of any repairs needed
  • Separate items by color and piece (pants with pants)
  • Then either alone or with a friend put together outfits and hang your outfits in your closet. So you might have 5-7 days of outfits already put together and ready to go.
  • Once you have your outfits together, decide if something is needed like a scarf, a belt etc.
  • Determine if you are missing a staple piece i.e. a good white shirt
  • Write down what you specifically need, NOT WANT, and DO NOT BUY anything that is NOT on this list. A bargain that is worn only once is not truly a bargain.
  • Buy only clothing that fits well. Take it to a tailor if necessary.

One last comment. I read an article by a professor from the University of North Texas. It was eye opening concerning sizes. In the end if you don’t like what the tag says, but it fits well, buy it and cut out the tag. You can read her article here. Just a small spoiler – there can be as must as a 13 inch difference between two pairs of pants marked the same size. The deception of sizing

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

One thought on “Style Isn’t Easy by Olivia Goldsmith

Leave a Reply

